After the race at Talladega Speedway last Sunday, four drivers were eliminated from the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series chase and eight drivers remain to keep their title hopes going for another three races in the round of eight.

The round of eight will start this Sunday Oct. 30 at Martinsville Speedway for the Goody’s Fast Relief 500. The remaining eight drivers will go into this round to fight for a win in order to guarantee themselves a spot in the Championship round at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Nov. 20.

Jimmie Johnson (Charlotte), Kevin Harvick (Kansas) and Joey Logano (Talladega), each won a race in the round of 12 to advance into the round of eight. All four Joe Gibbs Racing teams advanced (Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards and Matt Kenseth) by staying above the cutoff mark in the points standings. Along with them is Stewart-Haas Racing driver Kurt Busch to complete the chase grid of the eight drivers.

The four drivers eliminated after this weekend included Martin Truex Jr. and Brad Keselowski. Both drivers had four wins apiece this season and now their championship chances are over. Along with them are the first time chase drivers of Austin Dillon and Chase Elliott.

Truex Jr. looked to be one of the favorites to win the title as he dominated the round of 16. The Furniture Row Racing driver won two of the three races in the first round and looked to be the driver to beat for the Sprint Cup title. Keselowski also had a great run as he was one of the most consistent drivers throughout the chase by finishing mostly in the top-10 in the first four races in the chase. Dillon and Elliott

In this round, the chase drivers will first compete at Martinsville Speedway. One week later from Sunday, they will go fast at the 1.5 mile track at Texas Motor Speedway on Nov.6th. The round will be concluded by racing at Phoenix International Raceway on Nov.13th and the Championship four will be determined after the race in the desert.

Which four drivers can keep their momentum going and be part of the final four to contend for the Championship title at Homestead-Miami Speedway.


Josue Hernandez is a staff writer for The Sports Blaze covering NASCAR. Contact him via email at or on Twitter @JosueDHernande2.